WordCram Release 0.5.0

Today I learned that WordCram 0.4.1 doesn’t work with Processing 1.5, and the root of the problem is the way it renders word shapes. Then I found that the same change that enables PDF rendering enables Processing 1.5 support.

So I could bug-fix the Processing 1.5 support, or throw in PDF rendering and call it a release. Changing the way WordCram renders word shapes is pretty core, so I chose the release. And as a bonus, PDF support is official!

And that’s how WordCram 0.5.0 found its way out into the world this afternoon. The big news is PDFs, but you can also control the padding between your words. Download it now! You can thank me later. Send me a WordCrammed PDF.

Next up: replacing the text parsing code with cue.language.

This entry was posted in release. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WordCram Release 0.5.0

  1. JP says:

    Cool application, thanks!
    One question: does wordcram allow to word tuples (e.g. pairs of words), instead of individual words?

  2. Only if you weight your own words – then you can parse your own tuples and make weighted Word objects from them.

    On trunk, it uses cue.language, rather than doing its own parsing, and cue.language can parse out N-grams, so that could work its way into WordCram eventually.

  3. Brian W says:

    I am really looking forward to this next update. I have a handful of phrases that are mixed in with my words that I would like to display.

    Any ideas on the timing of this release?

  4. Hopefully mid-fall. I just changed jobs, and I’m participating in the September 2011 Ruby Mendicant University session, so WordCram development has been on-hold, but things should start to settle down in October.

    If you have phrases, though, I don’t think adding cue.language to WordCram will help you – currently, the idea is to just have it parse out the words & stop-words better. If you have phrases, try parsing them yourself, and passing an array of Word objects to WordCram.fromWords(). The WordCram examples includes a good illustration.

  5. Ryan says:

    Can someone create a program that allows you to input or paste text into a user given shape with the text remaing in original order (not randomized). For instance, if it was a poem it could be read as the poem is read instead of all mixed up. Or do they already have something like that?

  6. I don’t know of any, but I’m sure there must be something out there like that. If not, you could always start one… 🙂

Comments are closed.